Home | Awards and Recognition | Principal of the Year | MetLife/NASSP National Principals of the Year

National Principals of the Year

MetLife/NASSP National Principals of the Year

Starting in 2015, NASSP will designate one NASSP National Principal of the Year. The NASSP National Principal of the Year receives a $5,000 grant for use in improving learning at their school. The national honoree will be announced in October in coordination with National Principals Month.  The national honoree is a distinguished guest at the NASSP Conference, Ignite, in the spring. The national winner also receives a crystal award to display at their school.

Middle Level

2014: Sheena AlaiasaSamuel Wilder King Intermediate School, Kaneoh, HI

When Sheena Alaisasa, a New Zealand native, took the reins in 2008 at King Intermediate—or "King Zoo" as it was better known to the local community because of its reputation for disorder and poor academics—the school's scores were spiraling downward after several years of restructuring. By 2012, Alaiasa had led the school out of restructuring and into statewide recognition with a STRIVE HI Award as one of seven schools statewide to have made significant gains by closing the achievement gap.

2013: Laurie Barron, Smokey Road Middle School, Newnan, GA
2012: Linda Archambault, R. O. Gibson Middle School, Las Vegas, NV
2011: Cathy Carnahan Duniway Middle School, McMinnville, OR
2010: Sheila Kahrs, Haymon-Morris Middle School, Winder, GA
2009: Ray Landers, Boaz Middle School, Boaz, AL
2008: James Dierke, Visitacion Valley Middle School, San Francisco, CA
2007: Ellen Minette, Heidelberg Middle School, Germany
2006: Sharon Byrdsong, Azalea Gardens Middle School
2005: Randy Jensen, William Thomas Middle School, American Falls, ID
2004: Doug Lowery, Hilliard Memorial Middle School, Hilliard, OH
2003: Patti Kinney, Talent Middle School, Talent, OR
2002: Kevin McHugh, Pennwood Middle School, Yardley, PA
2001: Michelle Pedigo, Barren County Middle School, Glasgow, KY

High School

2014: Sheila Harrity, Worcester Technical High School, Worcester, MA

Sheila Harrity, the first Massachusetts principal to be named a national principal of the year in the program's 20-year history, took over as principal at Worcester Tech in 2006 with a new building and a renewed community commitment to turn the school around from its status as one of the lowest performing in the state. Harrity seized the opportunity to implement small learning communities, change the school’s culture, and empower teachers so all of the school’s nearly 1,400 students would graduate to thrive in the 21st century.

2013: Trevor Greene, Toppenish High School, Toppenish, WA
2012: Michael Foran, New Britain High School, New Britain, CT
2011: Wesley Taylor, Lowndes High School, Valdosta, GA
2010: Lucy Beckham, Wando High School, Mt. Pleasant, SC
2009: Mark Wilson, Morgan County High School, Madison, GA
2008: Molly Howard, Jefferson County High School, Louisville, GA
2007: Jill Martin, Thomas B. Doherty High School, Colorado Springs, CO
2006: Mel Riddile, J.E.B. Stuart High School, Falls Church, VA
2005: Gail Awakuni, James Campbell High School, Ewa Beach, HI
2004: James Donnelly, James A. Green High School, Dolgeville, NY
2003: Irving Jones, Monticello High School, Charlottesville, VA
2002: Sharon Buddin, Ridge View High School, Columbia, SC
2001: Beverly Hurley, Flagstaff High School, Flagstaff, AZ
2000: Jay Engeln, William J. Palmer High School, Colorado Springs, CO
1999: Michael Pladus, Interboro High School, Prospect Park, PA
1998: Elaine Sullivan, Hernando High School, Brooksville, FL
1997: Doris Sanchez Alvarez, Hoover High School, San Diego, CA
1996: Mary Grace Jarvis, Smoky Hill High School, Aurora, CO
1995: George V. Tignor, Parsons High School, Parsons, KS
1994: Ann Blakeney Clark, Alexander Graham Middle School, Charlotte, NC
1993: Janie Hill Hatton, Milwaukee Trade and Technical School, Milwaukee, WI

Photos compliments of Lifetouch.