Home | Awards and Recognition | Principal of the Year | NASSP National Principal of the Year

National Principals of the Year

NASSP National Principal of the Year

NASSP designates one NASSP National Principal of the Year. The national honoree is announced in October in coordination with National Principals Month. The national honoree is a distinguished guest at the NASSP Conference, Ignite, and receives a crystal award to display at his/her school.

2015 National Principal of the Year

Jayne Ellspermann, West Port High School, Ocala, Florida 2015 National Principal of the Year Jayne Ellspermann

During her 10 years as West Port principal, Ellspermann has ushered in a pervasive college-going culture built on personalization. At West Port, lunchtime is "PowerHour," a student empowerment initiative that Ellspermann launched to grant students autonomy over an hour of their school day for academic enrichment, open labs, clubs, and other creative opportunities. Three years of PowerHour has produced a more personalized and successful school environment: course failure has nearly disappeared, the graduation rate has risen 15 points, and participation in activities has increased from 10% to nearly 70%. Ellspermann holds a bachelor's degree in psychology from the University of Georgia and a master's degree in education from the University of Florida.

Through 2014, NASSP recognized a middle level and a high school National Principal of the Year.

Middle Level

2014: Sheena Alaiasa, Samuel Wilder King Intermediate School, Kaneoh, HI
2013: Laurie Barron, Smokey Road Middle School, Newnan, GA
2012: Linda Archambault, R. O. Gibson Middle School, Las Vegas, NV
2011: Cathy Carnahan Duniway Middle School, McMinnville, OR
2010: Sheila Kahrs, Haymon-Morris Middle School, Winder, GA
2009: Ray Landers, Boaz Middle School, Boaz, AL
2008: James Dierke, Visitacion Valley Middle School, San Francisco, CA
2007: Ellen Minette, Heidelberg Middle School, Germany
2006: Sharon Byrdsong, Azalea Gardens Middle School
2005: Randy Jensen, William Thomas Middle School, American Falls, ID
2004: Doug Lowery, Hilliard Memorial Middle School, Hilliard, OH
2003: Patti Kinney, Talent Middle School, Talent, OR
2002: Kevin McHugh, Pennwood Middle School, Yardley, PA
2001: Michelle Pedigo, Barren County Middle School, Glasgow, KY

High School

2014: Sheila Harrity, Worcester Technical High School, Worcester, MA
2013: Trevor Greene, Toppenish High School, Toppenish, WA
2012: Michael Foran, New Britain High School, New Britain, CT
2011: Wesley Taylor, Lowndes High School, Valdosta, GA
2010: Lucy Beckham, Wando High School, Mt. Pleasant, SC
2009: Mark Wilson, Morgan County High School, Madison, GA
2008: Molly Howard, Jefferson County High School, Louisville, GA
2007: Jill Martin, Thomas B. Doherty High School, Colorado Springs, CO
2006: Mel Riddile, J.E.B. Stuart High School, Falls Church, VA
2005: Gail Awakuni, James Campbell High School, Ewa Beach, HI
2004: James Donnelly, James A. Green High School, Dolgeville, NY
2003: Irving Jones, Monticello High School, Charlottesville, VA
2002: Sharon Buddin, Ridge View High School, Columbia, SC
2001: Beverly Hurley, Flagstaff High School, Flagstaff, AZ
2000: Jay Engeln, William J. Palmer High School, Colorado Springs, CO
1999: Michael Pladus, Interboro High School, Prospect Park, PA
1998: Elaine Sullivan, Hernando High School, Brooksville, FL
1997: Doris Sanchez Alvarez, Hoover High School, San Diego, CA
1996: Mary Grace Jarvis, Smoky Hill High School, Aurora, CO
1995: George V. Tignor, Parsons High School, Parsons, KS
1994: Ann Blakeney Clark, Alexander Graham Middle School, Charlotte, NC
1993: Janie Hill Hatton, Milwaukee Trade and Technical School, Milwaukee, WI

Photos compliments of Lifetouch.