RESTON, VA—The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) Board of Directors elected five school leaders to serve on the 19-member Board of Directors: Anita Berger, principal of Benjamin Banneker Academic High School in Washington, D.C.; Dr. Adam Clemons, principal of Piedmont High School in Piedmont, AL; Dr. Benjamin Feeney, principal of Lampeter-Strasburg High School in Lancaster, PA; Dr. Suzan Harris, principal of Henderson Middle School in Jackson, GA; and Beth Houf, principal of Capital City High School in Jefferson City, MO.

“I am honored to be a voice for school and student leaders in our organization and the halls of power,” said NASSP board member Anita Berger. “My colleagues across the nation are going above and beyond and innovating new ways to make a difference in the lives of their students. By championing their efforts and including them in education conversations, NASSP can transform the system for both educators and students, driving towards a future where everyone can reach their full potential.”

“I’m excited to bring the governance experience I learned in Alabama to advocate for school and student leaders at the national level,” said NASSP board member Dr. Adam Clemons.

“NASSP has provided me with numerous professional growth and networking opportunities over the last decade of my professional career,” said NASSP board member Dr. Benjamin Feeney. “I have maintained active membership in NASSP since becoming a school leader in 2014, and value all of the benefits of membership.”

“I have learned how important it is to have an organization like NASSP going to bat for me as an educator,” said NASSP board member Dr. Suzan Harris.

“I am passionate about supporting school leaders so that they, in turn, can lead buildings that best support students, staff and families,” said NASSP board member Beth Houf. “My global educational experiences have given me a unique lens to advocate beyond Missouri.”

“From advancing critical education policies to sharing best practices with their colleagues, these five school leaders have transformed the trajectory of thousands of students and educators,” said NASSP CEO Ronn Nozoe. “We are so thrilled to welcome them to the Board and look forward to working together to elevate the voices of school and student leaders.”

Feeney and Houf were elected to the NASSP board for three-year terms. Berger, Clemons and Hyatt were elected to serve one-year terms due to board vacancies. Current board members Julie Arnold, principal of Rio Rancho Cyber Academy in Rio Rancho, NM; Kimberly Greer, principal of Langley High School in McLean, VA; and Albert Sackey, principal of Hommocks Middle School in Larchmont, NY returned for three-year terms.

The new members’ bios are below and photos are available upon request.

Born and raised in Washington D.C., Anita Berger became Benjamin Banneker Academic High School’s principal in 2005. Under her leadership, the school introduced the International Baccalaureate Diploma Program and achieved a 100% graduation and college acceptance rate. Berger’s commitment to quality education has earned her prestigious awards and national recognition, including the 2009 NASSP D.C. Principal of the Year award, the 2013 Rubenstein Award for Highly Effective School Leaders and the 2017 D.C. Public Schools Principal of the Year award.

A third-generation educator, Dr. Adam Clemons has been the principal of Piedmont High School in AL since 2013, leading it to consistent top rankings in the state. His accomplishments include being named the 2020 NASSP Alabama Principal of the Year, a 2021 NASSP National Principal of the Year finalist and a 2023 inductee into Jacksonville State University’s Education Alumni Hall of Fame. He’s served as vice president and president-elect of the Alabama Association of Secondary School Principals and on various boards and committees. He cherishes time with his wife, five children and their church community.

Serving Lampeter-Strasburg High School in Lancaster, PA as principal for nine years, Dr. Benjamin Feeney began as a social studies teacher before transitioning into administration. He has served the Pennsylvania Principals Association as a regional representative and conference co-chair, and represented principals on the Pennsylvania School Safety and Security Committee. As an ambassador for the NASSP Principal Pipeline Campaign, he brings attention to the national principal shortage and its solutions. Currently, he is a facilitator for the NASSP Aspiring School Leaders Network, nurturing future school leaders.

With 17 years in education, including nine as an administrator, Dr. Suzan Harris is the esteemed principal of Henderson Middle School in Jackson, GA. Honored as the Georgia Association of Secondary School Principals (GASSP) 2023 Middle School Principal of the Year, she was also a 2012 Teacher of the Year at Hubbard Middle School. Dr. Harris led two schools (2020 and 2023) to win the Student Support Team Association of Georgia Educators (SSTAGE) Promising Practices Awards. Serving on the GASSP Executive Board, she represents Georgia’s middle schools at NASSP.

Beth Houf, principal of Capital City High School in Jefferson City, MO, and co-author of the book Lead Like a PIRATE, is committed to creating inspiring learning environments. As a facilitator for the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Leadership Academy, she shapes state educational leaders and is an active member of her local, state and national principal associations. Houf also serves as an adjunct professor at Westminster College while pursuing her doctorate at the University of Missouri. Houf’s accolades include being named a Missouri Exemplary New Principal in 2011, the Missouri National Distinguished Principal for 2016 and the 2022 NASSP National Principal of the Year. She also serves as a principal advisor for Future Ready Schools.

All board terms begin August 1.