2017 Digital Principal of the Year honors awarded to leaders in Missouri, South Dakota, and Pennsylvania

Reston, VA — Three extraordinary and tech-savvy school leaders have been selected as 2017 NASSP Digital Principals of the Year for integrating digital media in their efforts to improve instruction, student achievement, and their own leadership. The winners will be recognized at the 2017 National Principals Conference in July.

Photo of David Geurin

David Geurin (@DavidGeurin), Bolivar High School, Bolivar, MO
As a principal of 12 years, Geurin works to implement, promote, and monitor a shared technology-infused vision. He is a passionate advocate for student learning, working closely with his Digital Learning committee to help guide the vision for Bolivar High School (BHS). Last year, BHS partnered with other schools to initiate a campaign, #StartsWithUs, to use social media as a way to promote tolerance and acceptance. The school also launched a 1:1 program where he and his staff were able to see students learning in new, powerful ways. He shares ideas about digital empowerment and learning on his blog, www.davidgeurin.com.

Photo of Darren Ellwein

Darren Ellwein (@DEllwein), Harrisburg South Middle School, Harrisburg, SD
Ellwein has been a principal for eight years, but has always had a passion for technology. He believes technology has transformational potential for growth in learning, for teachers and students. He has made sure every staff member at Harrisburg South Middle School (HSMS) has a Twitter account which has allowed them to communicate with parents through the social media network. In addition to social media, Google Docs and Google Hangouts have played a major role throughout his school. Ellwein has also created technology-based clubs such as the Drone Club, and has even created Twitter Tuesdays and a Genius Hour every Wednesday which has led to the school’s Makerspace being used for prototyping inventions such as an automated dog feeder.

Photo of Nicholas Indeglio

Nicholas Indeglio (@DrIndeglio), Downingtown Middle School, Downingtown, PA
Downingtown Middle School (DMS) strives to create a digital synergy between students, teachers, parents, and the community thanks to Nicholas Indeglio. He believes the key to communicating a technology infused vision is establishing defined methods of communication through common technology platforms. Thanks to the school’s 1:1 middle level initiative, every student at DMS is able to have an iPad. Students have access to the school’s learning management system through this device. At any time, parents can see what their child is doing in class, eliminating “blind spots.” Media/Movie Clubs, Minecraft Club, Twitter Chats, Facebook Live videos, and more are just a few ways Indeglio has implemented technology into his school.

The NASSP Digital Principals of the Year program was created in 2012 to recognize excellence in technology leadership. As DPOY winners, these recipients receive an expenses-paid (airfare, lodging, and registration) trip to present at the 2017 National Principals Conference, July 9–11, 2017, in Philadelphia, PA, and the full McKinsey Management Program for School Leaders (MMPSL), a dynamic and highly interactive online leadership training program. They will also be featured on the cover of an upcoming issue of Principal Leadership magazine.


The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) is the leading organization of and voice for middle level and high school principals, assistant principals, and school leaders from across the United States and 35 countries around the world. The association connects and engages school leaders through advocacy, research, education, and student programs. NASSP advocates on behalf of all school leaders to ensure the success of each student and strengthens school leadership practices through the design and delivery of high-quality professional learning experiences. Reflecting its long-standing commitment to student leadership development, NASSP administers the National Honor Society, National Junior Honor Society, National Elementary Honor Society, and National Association of Student Councils.