RESTON, VA—Members of the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) have selected Gregg Wieczorek, principal of Arrowhead Union High School in Hartland, WI, as the organization’s new president-elect. NASSP members also elected five school leaders to serve on the 24-member NASSP Board of Directors beginning August 1, 2020.

“Over the past four years, we’ve witnessed Gregg’s passion and commitment to transforming education and know he will continue to enrich our organization as president-elect and president,” stated NASSP Chief Executive Officer JoAnn Bartoletti. “Gregg has a long-standing history of advocating for key issues that impact both school leaders and students, while also prioritizing student success. We look forward to working with Gregg in his new leadership roles and also welcome the five school leaders to the NASSP Board [of Directors].”

Wieczorek has served as the principal of Arrowhead Union High School for the past 27 years and has worked in both rural and suburban settings. Wieczorek has been a member of the board for four years and has held the position of treasurer for the past two years. As an NASSP Board of Directors member, he has devoted significant advocacy efforts to raise awareness about the teacher shortage crisis and the impact of student vaping. Wieczorek and his school were recently highlighted in a Good Morning America segment regarding the proactive steps they have taken to reduce vaping among students in the school.

Wieczorek was a member of the board of directors of the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators for 14 years and served as president for the 2005–06 school year. In 2012, he was named the Wisconsin High School Principal of the Year by the organization. Wieczorek earned his undergraduate degree from the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse and a master’s degree in educational administration from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

The five additional school leaders elected to the board for four-year terms include:

  • Meghan Redmond, assistant principal, Chief Ivan Blunka School, New Stuyahok, AK (Assistant Principal At-Large)
  • Ralph Aiello, principal, Cumberland Regional High School, Bridgeton, NJ
  • Steven D. Carlson, principal, Sandusky Junior/Senior High School, Sandusky, MI
  • Kara Four Bear, principal, New Town Middle School, New Town, ND
  • Twainna Fortner Calhoun, principal, Good Hope Middle School, West Monroe, LA

The new board members were elected during the 2020 NASSP Members Assembly held virtually on July 8, 2020. All board terms are effective August 1, 2020. Wieczorek will succeed Maryland Principal Roberty Motley as president on August 1, 2021.

For a complete roster of the NASSP Board of Directors, please visit


The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) is the leading organization of and voice for principals and other school leaders across the United States. NASSP seeks to transform education through school leadership, recognizing that the fulfillment of each student’s potential relies on great leaders in every school committed to the success of each student. Reflecting its long-standing commitment to student leadership development, NASSP administers the National Honor SocietyNational Junior Honor SocietyNational Elementary Honor Society, and National Student Council.