Reston, VA – The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) today named Beth Houf, Chris Lehmann, and Allison Persad as the 2019 Digital Principals of the Year (DPOY). Each of these principals exhibit bold, creative leadership in their drive to harness the potential of new technologies to further learning goals.

Beth Houf (@BethHouf), Fulton Middle School, Fulton, MO

Beth Houf is the proud principal of Fulton Middle School (FMS) in central Missouri. In her 11 years as principal, she has worked to implement a technology-infused vision among various stakeholders through initiatives including transforming the teacher evaluation program through technology; implementing FMS Passionate Learning, a digital innovation focused on personalized learning; and utilizing social media platforms to improve communication with parents and model digital citizenship and leadership for students. Houf is the co-author of Lead Like a PIRATE: Make School Amazing for Your Students and Staff. She also serves as a facilitator for the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education Leadership Academy, providing monthly training to state educational leaders, and is active in her local, state and national principal associations.

Chris Lehmann (@chrislehmann), Science Leadership Academy, Philadelphia, PA

Chris Lehmann is the founding principal and CEO of the Science Leadership Academy, an inquiry-driven, project-based, 1:1 laptop school that is considered to be one of the pioneers of the School 2.0 movement nationally and internationally. It is part of the Science Leadership Academy Schools network, a network of three progressive science and technology schools in Philadelphia. Since the school’s inception in 2006, Lehmann has focused on fulfilling its vision that technology should be ubiquitous, necessary, and invisible. He has created a Tech Team to manage and maintain the school’s technology; a web portal to allow students to work publicly on school blogs and learning tools; and an overall environment that empowers students to leverage technology in new and powerful ways. Chris is the co-author of Building School 2.0 and blogs regularly at

Allison Persad (@apersad), The Young Women’s Leadership School of Astoria, Astoria, NY

Allison Persad is the principal of The Young Women’s Leadership School (TYWLS) of Astoria, where she prides herself on advancing a technology vision that offers agency and creative freedom to her teachers, students, and staff. In her tenure at TYWLS of Astoria, she has focused on a mission to ensure that all students have access to computer science, implementing a seven-year Software Engineering Program designed to help students think and solve critical problems in creative ways through the use and understanding of technology. In an effort to empower and educate girls through technology, the school became a 1:1 laptop environment that allows for the incorporation of technology in every course throughout the day. Persad has spent nearly 20 years as a student, teacher, coach, adjunct professor, and now principal of an all-girls public school in New York City.

“We are proud to honor Ms. Houf, Mr. Lehmann, and Ms. Persad for their extraordinary efforts to improve instruction, student achievement, and their own leadership through the use of technology in their schools,” stated NASSP Executive Director JoAnn Bartoletti. “We commend these principals for leveraging technology as a resource to further build culture and lead learning to help prepare each student for success in college, citizenship, career, and life.”

To recognize the DPOY winners, the three principals will get an expenses-paid trip to participate at the 2019 National Principals Conference in Boston, July 18–20.

For more information on the DPOY program, please visit

 About NASSP

The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) is the leading organization of and voice for principals and other school leaders across the United States. NASSP seeks to transform education through school leadership, recognizing that the fulfillment of each student’s potential relies on great leaders in every school committed to the success of each student. Reflecting its long-standing commitment to student leadership development, NASSP administers the National Honor SocietyNational Junior Honor SocietyNational Elementary Honor Society, and National Student Council.