Reston, VA—The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) is proud to present the 2019 Congressional Champion Award to Rep. Rosa DeLauro (D-CT) for her ongoing commitment to introducing legislation and supporting policies aimed at benefiting school leaders and the students and faculty in their schools. The award was presented by JoAnn Bartoletti, executive director of NASSP, as part of the 2019 celebration of National Principals Month. Rep. DeLauro’s constituents—Dana Paredes, principal of West Haven High School, and Anna Mahon, principal of Amity Regional High School—were on hand for the presentation.

Rep. DeLauro has long viewed the principalship as an essential role in student achievement and success. As the chairwoman and former ranking member of the House Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Appropriations Subcommittee, Rep. DeLauro has been a long-standing champion of public education and advocate for increased federal funding for several of NASSP’s priority programs, including Title II, Title IV, and Comprehensive Literacy Development Grants in the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA).

In the FY 2020 House appropriations bill, Rep. DeLauro secured a substantial increase in investment for education programs, including a $500 million increase for Title II, a critical program that supports professional development for teachers and school leaders. Rep. DeLauro is also a longtime advocate and champion for equitable learning environments and educational opportunities for all students, with a specific focus on policies aimed at protecting LGBTQ students.

“We are proud to recognize Representative DeLauro with the 2019 NASSP Congressional Champion Award and are grateful for her continued efforts to advance legislation that has a positive impact on education, school leaders, teachers, and students,” stated Bartoletti. “She is an exceptional ally of school leaders and public education, and we look forward to working with her in the future to help elevate our vision of ensuring the academic success and well-being of every student.”

Past recipients of the NASSP Congressional Champion Award include Rep. Susan Davis (D-CA) and Sens. Lamar Alexander (R-TN) and Patty Murray (D-WA). For more information about NASSP, visit

Photo courtesy of NASSP. Pictured: Dana Paredes, Rep. Rosa DeLauro, JoAnn Bartoletti, and Anna Mahon. Rep. DeLauro received the 2019 Congressional Champion Award from NASSP.


The National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) is the leading organization of and voice for principals and other school leaders across the United States. NASSP seeks to transform education through school leadership, recognizing that the fulfillment of each student’s potential relies on great leaders in every school committed to the success of each student. Reflecting its long-standing commitment to student leadership development, NASSP administers the National Honor SocietyNational Junior Honor SocietyNational Elementary Honor Society, and National Student Council.