State Principals of the Year

Each of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Department of State Office of Overseas Schools, and the Department of Defense Education Activity will select one middle level and one high school principal to represent their state. State winners are selected from applications submitted to the state associations.

Each state’s selection process and deadlines vary. Application information for each state may be found by contacting your state affiliate.

2019 State Principals of the Year

State Name School Name
Alabama Andrea Dennis Scarborough Model Middle School
Alaska Frank Hauser Robert Service High School
Arizona Dan Serrano Perry High School
Arkansas Chad Jordan Greene County Tech High School
California Mark Anderson Marshall Fundamental Secondary School
Colorado Deana Pachelli Trinidad Middle School
Connecticut Gordon Beinstein Western Middle School
Delaware Sherry Kijowski Caesar Rodney High School
District of Columbia Kimberly Martin Woodrow Wilson High School
DODEA Paul Hernandez Maxwell AFB Elementary/Middle School
DOSOS Joelle Basnight American International School Chennai
DOSOS Alexa Schmid International School of Kenya
Florida Mark Shanoff Edgewater High School
Georgia Kerensa Wing Collins Hill High School
Hawaii Fred Murphy Mililani High School
Idaho Tim Little Marsing High School
Illinois Amy Mascal Streator Township High School
Indiana Bruce Jennings Bremen High School
Iowa Kerry Newman Kirn Middle School
Kansas Greg Rosenhagen Cheney High School
Kentucky Samuel Watkins Madison Southern High School
Louisiana Eric Davis Wossman High School
Maine Brian Walsh Hermon High School
Maryland Joey Jones Robert Frost Middle School
Massachusetts Lindsa McIntyre Jeremiah E. Burke High School
Michigan Robert Beato South Lake High School
Minnesota Andrew Merfeld St. Michael-Albertville Middle School West
Mississippi Carey Kirkland Velma Jackson High School
Missouri Krisandra Worley Saeger Middle School
Montana Joel Graves Lincoln County High School
Nebraska Ross Ricenbaw Waverly Middle School
Nevada Amy Wagner Boulder City High School
New Hampshire Tracy Collyer Salem High School
New Jersey Paul Mucciarone Monmouth County Academy of Allied Health & Science
New Mexico Tim Kienitz Farmington High School
New York Timothy Jenny James A. Green High School
North Carolina Tabari Wallace West Craven High School
North Dakota Aaron Schramm Park River Area High School
Ohio Mark Smithberger Strongsville High School
Oklahoma Scott Beck Norman High School
Oregon Lee Loving Ridgeview High School
Pennsylvania Anthony Mooney Quaker Valley Middle School
Rhode Island Kevin McNamara Lincoln High School
South Carolina Michael Lofton Spring Hill High School
South Dakota Joe Childs Mitchell High School
Tennessee Chad Smith Powell High School
Texas Tim Lambert Texas Middle School
Utah Luke Rasmussen Ogden High School
Vermont Philip Grant Peoples Academy
Virginia Jesse Boyd King George High School
Washington Guy Kovacs Kalles Junior High School
West Virginia Holly Kleppner Musselman High School
Wisconsin Ty Breitlow Chilton High School
Wyoming Breez Daniels Thermopolis Middle School/Hot Springs County High School