Building Ranks Coming Soon

Support your career growth with this suite of new, standards-based products for school leaders, launching this school year. Start with Building Ranks: A Comprehensive Framework for Effective School Leaders, which uses case studies from principals around the country to delve into strategies for building culture and leading learning. Then, incorporate the Educational Leadership Assessment and two surveys—measuring leadership and culture—to gather information from other stakeholders. Learn more at

New NASSP Board President

Christine Handy, principal of Gaithersburg High School in Maryland, started her term as president of the NASSP Board of Directors on July 1, 2018. Handy served on the executive board of the Maryland Association of Secondary School Principals (MASSP) and was the 2006 Maryland High School Principal of the Year. Since 2014, she has served on the NASSP Board of Directors as a regional representative. “With uncertainty dominating conversations about the future of American education policy, it is an honor to serve in this role and work with NASSP to provide school leadership with the knowledge, tools, and support they need to ensure the success of all students,” Handy said. For a complete roster of the NASSP Board of Directors, please visit

Celebrate National Principals Month in October

Join NASSP, the National Association of Elementary School Principals, and the American Federation of School Administrators in honoring all school leaders. National Principals Month in October is a time for students, teachers, and communities to show their appreciation for the great work principals do. For ideas on how to celebrate, visit, and be sure to use #ThankAPrincipal on social media to tell us how your school is celebrating. The 2019 NASSP National Principal of the Year will be announced early in the month.

Honoring State POY and Finalists for National POY

NASSP will honor all State Principals of the Year at the annual Principals Institute, held in Washington, D.C., September 23–26. This event gives honorees the opportunity to attend a series of professional development activities with their peers and meet with their respective members of Congress. During the Principals Institute, the three finalists for the 2019 NASSP National Principal of the Year award—Lucas Clamp of River Bluff High School, SC; Paul Kelly of Elk Grove High School, IL; and Hannah Nieskens of Whitehall 6–12, MT—will be recognized, with the winner announced in October.

For more news, visit NASSP’s School of Thought blog at