Each year, NASSP designates one NASSP National Principal of the Year. The national honoree is announced in October in coordination with National Principals Month. The national honoree is a distinguished guest at the annual conference and receives a crystal award to display at their school.

2024 National Principal of the Year

Andrew Farley
Brookfield East High School
Brookfield, WI

Andrew Farley’s journey from a high school social studies teacher to the principal of Brookfield East High School (BEHS) in Brookfield, Wisconsin has been nothing short of remarkable. For the past 10 years, he has spearheaded BEHS, propelling it to the pinnacle of excellence as the top public high school in Wisconsin for three consecutive years, as recognized by Niche. At the heart of Farley’s vision lies a deep commitment to the whole-student experience, underscored by a school culture firmly rooted in the mission of “Dedicated to Academic and Human Excellence.” Embodying his belief in the transformative power of education, Farley has been an inspirational faculty leader of Wisconsin’s first Hope Squad—a student-nominated leadership team dedicated to reducing teenage suicide and destigmatizing mental health support and resources. Beyond his role as principal, Farley’s influence extends to developing future educational leaders. He facilitates state-level conferences and teaches master’s level coursework at Carroll University, fostering the leadership capacity and impact of all to create thriving school communities. With passion, dedication, and a relentless pursuit of excellence, Andrew Farley continues to shape the educational landscape and uplift the lives of countless students at BEHS.