Celebrating the great things about your school is part of a principal’s daily life. You celebrate your students’ successes. You celebrate their failures. You celebrate your teachers. You celebrate a successful drama production or athletic season.

Now we want to celebrate you. Each year, NASSP, the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP), and the American Federation of School Administrators (AFSA) designate October as National Principals Month in recognition of all that you do to help each student fulfill their greatest potential.

As in previous years, NASSP, NAESP, and AFSA will work with both the House and Senate to introduce a resolution commemorating National Principals Month, and we are working with state organizations to pass similar resolutions at the state level. To build on the success of principal shadowing visits in years past, we will be hosting the first-ever National Principals Shadowing Week, October 16–20, 2017.

During this week, we encourage you to reach out to elected officials from all levels of government and invite them to shadow you for a day at your school. You can also join in the celebration by participating in one of several special webinars, by responding to an NASSP action alert, or by sending a fellow principal an e-card to show your support.

Throughout the month, show us how your school is celebrating principal leadership by using #ThankAPrincipal when posting on social media. See how others value those in your profession and join the conversation. This month, NASSP’s 2018 National Principal of the Year will also be announced. Visit www.principalsmonth.org for more information.

Ultimately, National Principals Month is our way of acknowledging the essential role that school leaders play in empowering today’s learners. You are powerful multipliers of effective practice, and we want to honor you for your commitment to the success of all students.

Thank you for your tireless efforts in the pursuit of excellence in educational leadership.

JoAnn Bartoletti
Executive Director, NASSP