Digital Principal of the Year

The Digital Principals of the Year program honors principals who exhibit bold, creative leadership in their drive to harness the potential of new technologies to further learning goals.

Congratulations to the 2018 Digital Principals of the Year!

The 2018 Digital Principals are Kristina MacBury, principal of Sarah Pyle Academy in Wilmington, DE; Brian McCann, principal of Joseph Case High School in Swansea, MA; Mariah Rackley, principal of Cedar Crest Middle School in Lebanon, PA.

Selection Process

NASSP honors three NASSP-member principals in schools that cover any subset of grades 6—12. Criteria for the award are based on the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) Standards for Administrators and the applications of those skills to further the Breaking Ranks framework for school improvement.


Winners receive an expenses-paid (airfare, lodging, and registration) trip to the annual national conference. In addition, winners will have an opportunity to speak at the National Principals Conference. Winners will also be featured on the cover of Principal Leadership magazine.