Dates and Deadlines for the Digital Principals of the Year program

March 1, 2021
2021 NASSP Digital Principal of the Year application available online

April 30, 2021
Digital Principal of the Year applications due to NASSP

June 2, 2021
2021 Digital Principals of the Year are announced.

July 15-17, 2021
2021 Digital Principals of the Year are recognized at the 2021 National Principals Conference. Learn more

The Digital Principals of the Year program honors principals who exhibit bold, creative leadership in their drive to harness the potential of new technologies to further learning goals.

Congratulations to the 2020 Digital Principals of the Year!

The 2020 Digital Principals are Robert Eichorn, principal of Independence Nontraditional School in Virginia; JoAnne Glenn, principal of Pasco eSchool in Florida; Kathryn Procope, principal of Howard University Middle School of Mathematics and Science, in Washington, D.C.

Selection Process

NASSP honors three NASSP-member principals in schools that cover any subset of grades 6–12. Criteria for the award are based on the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) Standards for Administrators and the applications of those skills to further the Building Ranks™ framework for school improvement.


Winners receive an expenses-paid (airfare, lodging, and registration) trip to the annual national conference. In addition, winners will have an opportunity to speak at the National Principals Conference. Winners will also be featured on the cover of Principal Leadership magazine.